Port Hope Public Library - Port Hope Branch

Library Board

Library Board

Port Hope Public Library Board


The Library Board invites you to explore the services, programs and the facilities offered by Port Hope Public Library.

The Library is governed by an independent Board of Trustees. Board members apply to and are appointed by Municipal Council every four years. The Board is responsible for the effective management of library resources and for the quality of library service.

Board Meetings

Port Hope Public Library Board meetings are held at the Mary J. Benson Branch on the third Thursday of the month at 6:00 p.m. with the exception of July and August.  On occasion, meetings may have to be rescheduled.  Please check the Calendar section of this website to confirm meeting dates and times.  Members of the public are welcome to attend Board meetings.

 Board Members

The term of the current Library Board is 2019 - 2022. Current Board membership is one Councillor and eight citizen appointees. Board members are:

  • Kathy Dennis

  • Laurie Carr, Councillor

  • Carol Ann Moore Ede

  • Jennifer Keyes

  • Katherine McHarg

  • Catherine Raby

  • Liz Stewart

Port Hope Public Library Board invites everyone to read the Annual Report and the Board’s Strategic Plan. Hard copies are also available at the Mary J. Benson Branch and The Hub at Canton.

The Library Board welcomes your questions, comments, and suggestions at any time. Feel free to contact the Library Board by mail or email.

Port Hope Public Library Board, 31 Queen Street, Port Hope, Ontario L1A 2Y8


Seeking new Library Board members

The Port Hope Public Library Board term is up and the Municipality is looking for new members to join the Board in providing governance and advocacy for the public library. Application may be made to the Municipality of Port Hope, 56 Queen Street, Port Hope ON L1A 3Z9

Basic requirements : Canadian citizenship, at least 18 years old and a resident of Port Hope.Applications should state:  the name, address and qualifications of the applicant and any pertinent background information which may assist Council in its consideration.

Application forms are available at the Library and at www.porthope.ca/boards-and-committees